CWA Local 3642 Membership Meeting September 12, 2023--10 a.m.

Call to Order time: 10:08 a.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

E-board members in attendance: Tammy Scott, Nan Daniels (via Zoom), Deron Johnson, Tammy Hux, Raven Johnson, Corey McLamb and Nancy McLemore.

E-Board not in attendance names: All present

Nan read the minutes from the membership meeting on July 25, 2023.

Tammy Scott asked for a motion to accept the previous membership meeting minutes as read.

First-Sharon Vaught Second-Karen Cabrera

Motion carried.

Nan went over and discussed the financial reports for July and August 2023.

Tammy asked for a motion to accept the financial report as read.

First-Corey McLamb Second-Sharon Vaught

Motion carried.

Tammy Scott said there was no old business to discuss.

New Business:

I will be leaving for bargaining today, September 12th and returning on the 15th. Deron will be covering the Local during that time.

The E-board mailed the HBR's wings pins for their lanyards. Those were provided by CWA National. We hand delivered those to the agents that work in the office. They are to be worn to show unity and support for the bargaining team.

We held a member appreciation day on August 2, 2023 and it was a great success. You can take a look at our Facebook and website pages to see the photos from that day.

Tammy said, "I will now turn it over to our Election Committee Chairperson, Karen Cabrera and assisting is co-chair, Sharon Vaught so that we can start the election process."

Karen introduced herself and said we are now going to begin the process of nominating candidates for the officers of the Local election. She went on to list the order and offices that were up for election (see below). Karen asked if everyone was ready to proceed and everyone was in agreement to do so.

Deron Johnson raised his hand and said, "I'd like to start off by nominating the hardest working president in the CWA to that position again at 3642."

President—Tammy Scott, nominated by Deron Johnson. First—Michelle Collerette, second--Maureen Azcano. Karen said, "This has been passed. Tammy is now nominated. Are there any other nominees for President?" There were no other nominees for President.

Executive Vice President—Deron Johnson, nominated by Tammy Scott. First—Michelle Collerette, second--Nancy McLemore. There were no other nominees for Executive Vice President.

Secretary/Treasurer—Tammy Hux, nominated by Nan Daniels. First—Tammy Scott, second—Maureen Azcano. Again, no opposing nominees for Secretary/Treasurer.

OBR Area Vice President—Corey McLamb, nominated by Sebrenda Clifton. First—Raven Johnson, second—Tammy Hux. Again, no other nominees for OBR Area Vice President.

HBR Area Vice President—Raven Johnson, nominated by Corey McLamb. First—Tammy Hux, second--Sharon Vaught.

Nancy McLemore, nominated by Michelle Collerette. First—Tammy Scott, second—Deron Johnson.

Area Representatives—Sebrenda Clifton, nominated by Corey McLamb. First—Tammy Scott, second—Michelle Collerette.

McPhine Dyson, nominated by Laila Abdullah. First—Corey McLamb, second—Raven Johnson.

Alan Creason, nominated by Nancy McLemore. First—Tammy Hux, second—Deron Johnson.

HBR Area Representative – Nan Daniels, nominated by Tammy Hux. First—Tammy Scott, second—Deron Johnson.

Karen asked, "Are there anymore nominations for HBR Area Rep?" Michelle Collerette asks, "Can someone be an HBR Area Rep and not be an HBR worker?" Karen replied, "Yes."

Karen said, "I should ask if there anyone running for HBR or OBR Area Representatives." No one else. "So, I need everyone who has been nominated to stay until after the meeting so I can go over the rules of the election process."

Michelle asked if we would be going through the election process with all those who are running unopposed. Karen explained, "We still have to go through the process and the nominees for the various offices would be sent out by Ballot Point. There were two offices that still needed to be contested, but those that had no opposition would win those positions. She also explained there is no 'write-in candidate' provision under the CWA Constitution. We still have to go through the formal proceeding according to By-Laws and the Constitution. We have to make sure everything is done fairly."

Karen, "Any further questions on the election process?"

The positions of President, Executive Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer, OBR Area Vice President and HBR Area Representative had no opposing nominations. Therefore Tammy Scott, Deron Johnson, Tammy Hux, Corey McLamb and Nan Daniels all won by acclamation.

Electronic voting instructions and pen numbers to vote for the positions of HBR Area Vice President and Area Representatives (there are two positions) will be mailed out by Ballot Point in October.

Nominees, election dates and the timeline have been posted on the reservation office bulletin board, the Local's Facebook page and website.

Report of Committees:

The Finance and By-Law Committee met on September 5, 2023.

Nancy McLemore, Finance and By-Laws committee chairperson, read the minutes from that meeting. She explained how the budget for October 1, 2023 through March 31, 2024 was agreed upon and how it would be used towards various Local costs. (The Budget can be viewed at the Local Office and the minutes of that meeting can be read at cwalocal3642.online.)

Tammy Scott called for a motion to accept the minutes as read.

First-Sebrenda Clifton Second-Corey McLamb

Motion Carried.

Tammy Scott went over budget cost and allocations for October 1, 2023-March 31, 2023. Tammy asked Nan Daniels, Secretary Treasurer, how our last six-month budget looked. Nan said, "We went over a little bit but that was to be expected as the E-board attended the CWA National Convention (held once every two years)." (Prices on hotel rooms have risen since the budget was originally planned.) Nan explained we still have \$10,000 in the budget remaining through the end of September, so she thought we were doing well. Nan said, "I think Nancy McLemore has done an excellent job on the budget and we are meeting it just as we should. There is nothing we are spending money on that is not essential."

Tammy said, "With that being said, can I get a motion to accept the budget as read?"

First—Tammy Hux Second—Alan Creason

Motion Carried and budget passed.

The Safety Committee (Bernard Griffin and Alan Creason) met on July 27, 2023 those minutes are posted on our website. Please share any concerns regarding the office with Alan or Bernard.

Health and Welfare:

Please keep our members and their families in your thoughts and prayers.

We will do a double Wear Red drawing next meeting.

Membership drawing: Leila Abdullah won the \$25.00 prize for attending the meeting.

Is there anything anyone would like to bring to the floor before the meeting is adjourned?

Motion to adjourn:

First—Karen Cabrera Second—Tammy Hux

Meeting adjourned at: 10:49 a.m.